2014 Caldecott Winners

callingcaldecott_ballot2b_2014The 2014 American Library Association (ALA) awards were announced this week. Best known of these awards are The Newberry Medal and The Caldecott Medal. The Newberry Award was the first children’s book award in the world.

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually  for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year. In 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller, John Newbery.

In 1937 a second annual award was added to honor the artists creating picture books. The Caldecott Medal is given to the artist who created the most distinguished picture book of the year and is named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott. René Paul Chambellan designed both the Newberry Medal and the Caldecott Medal.

In addition to The Newberry Award and The Caldecott Award, the ALA also now awards The Coretta Scott King Award for an African-American author and illustrator; the Pura Belfre Awards for a Latino author and illustrator; The Stonewell Book Award for “books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience; and, the Schneifer Family Book Award for “books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience”

51N9l-ivNcL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_Here are this year’s winners.

THE 2014 JOHN NEWBERRY MEDAL WINNER  for “most outstanding contribution to children’s literature”

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures,”written by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell


Doll Bones, written by Holly Black

The Year of Billy Miller, written by Kevin Henkes

One Came Home, written by Amy Timberlake

Paperboy, written by Vince Vawter


51-RcI3fOXL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_2014 RANDOLPH CALDECOTT MEDAL WINNER for the “most distinguished American picture book for children”

Locomotive, illustrated and written by Brian Floca


Journey, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

Flora and the Flamingo, written and illustrated by Molly Idle

Mr. Wuffles, written and illustrated by David Wiesner

CORETTA SCOTT KIND AWARDS for an African-American author and illustrator

Author award: P.S. Be Eleven, written by Rita Williams-Garcia

Illustrator award: Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty

51GawsNdh1L._SX258_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_CORETTA SCOTT KING HONOR BOOKS

Author: March: Book One, written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell

Author: Darius & Twig, written by Walter Dean Myers

Author: Words with Wings, written by Nikki Grimes

Illustrator: Nelson Mandela, written by Kadir Nelson


Theodore Taylor III for his illustrations for When the Beat was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop

PURA BELPRE AWARDS for a Latino writer and illustrator “whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience”

Illustrator: Nino Wrestles the World, illustrated and written by Yuyi Morales

Author: Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass, written by Meg Medina

51dFRcEt5nL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_PURA BELPRE HONOR BOOKS

Author: The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist, written by Margarita Engle

Author: The Living, written by Matt de la Peña

Author: Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale, written by Duncan Tonatiuh

Illustrator: Maria Had a Little Llama, llustrated and written by Angela Dominguez

Illustrator: Tito Puente: Mambo King, illustrated by Rafael López and written by Monica Brown

Illustrator: Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale, written by Duncan Tonatiuh

STONEWELL BOOK AWARD, the Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award for “books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience”

 Beautiful Music for Ugly Children, written by Kristin Cronn-Mills

Fat Angie, written by e.E. Charlton-Trujillo

51jYgv97DKL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_STONEWELL HONOR BOOKS

Better Nate than Ever, written by Tim Federle

Branded by the Pink Triangle, written by Ken Setterington

Two Boys Kissing, written by David Levithan

SCHNEIFER FAMILY BOOK AWARD for “books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience”

Young children’s book: A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin, written by Jen Bryant and illustrated by Melissa Sweet

Middle grades book: Handbook for Dragon Slayers, written by Merrie Haskell

Teen book: Rose Under Fire, written by Elizabeth Wein


For a complete list of the winners, including books for older children and teens, see the American Library Association.


PEGGY-headshotPeggy O’Mara is the editor and publisher of peggyomara.com. She founded Mothering.com in 1995 and was its editor-in chief until 2012. She was the editor and publisher of Mothering Magazine from 1980 to 2011. The author of Having a Baby Naturally; Natural Family Living; The Way Back Home; and A Quiet Place, Peggy has conducted workshops at Omega Institute, Esalen, La Leche League, and Bioneers. She is the mother of four and grandmother of two.

Share this post.

Peggy O'Mara

About Peggy O'Mara

Editor and Publisher of peggyomara.com. Longtime natural living advocate, award winning writer, and independent thinker.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *